Argyle loads up on 3A all-state team

The Associated Press Class 3A All-State team was released this morning, and there was a large Argyle representation with three first-teamers a second-teamer and numerous honorable mention selections. Voting is based on regular season performance only.

Defensive tackle David Johnson, who amazingly played quarterback just a few short years ago, was named the District 9-3A MVP — a huge honor for a defensive tackle, especially in one of the toughest districts in the state. He finished with 77 tackles, 24 tackles for loss, 4 fumbles caused and five sacks. He was named as a first-team defensive lineman, though I voted for him for Defensive Player of the Year, which went to DL Jacoby Alexander from Van.

Center Sam Forrer was a first-team selection as well, finishing the year with one sack allowed and a grade of 95 percent. Kicker Chad Hedlund was named the first-team kicker. After giving way to sophomore Austin Aune at quarterback, Hedlund kept his focus and was a key contributor to the Eagles’ offense, hitting 39 of 42 extra points and 10 of 16 field goals on the year, including a 50-yarder in Argyle’s big win over Prosper.

Offensive lineman Bryndyn Hinnrichs was named to the second team, and honorable mention selections included: OL Mark Vickers, LB Jake Sizelove, DB Jake Meeks and DB Storm Griffin.